How long do I have to file a medical malpractice claim in California?
A young woman contacted our office believing she had a medical malpractice claim against her doctor, and she wanted to know how long she had to file a suit against the doctor. Here in California, you only have one year to file a claim against a doctor. You can extend the statute by 90 days by sending what we call a 364 letter. If you send the CCP 364 letter on the 364th day, you will have an extra 90 days to file your lawsuit, but in general, you only have one year from the date of injury to file your claim.
Were you or a loved one seriously injured due to the fault of a medical professional and have questions about the medical malpractice statute of limitations?
Contact our Newhall medical malpractice attorneys at Bish & Cutting, APC today for a free confidential consultation and case evaluation.
Let our experience work for you.
Like Us on Facebook